Why travel?

I guess this is a pretty important topic to be talked about on a travel blog. Why?

Let me start with a lil story I heard a long time ago. I once met a  guy who once went to New York, to about three hours away from New York City and he didn’t go visit the big city. He made some excuses and figured he would always go back.

Well, I talked to him about thirty years later and he had never gone back. And this poor guy regretted it a lot.

Don’t be like this guy. If you have a chance to go somewhere, go see it!

I’ll tell you a secret, I know it looks like I have a lot of money, (I mean, two Hawaii vacations in a year) But I actually don’t. I work a lot of overtime and save as much of my money as possible. It takes me six to eight months to save for a vacation. When my family asks what I want for my birthday or Christmas, I ask them to contribute to my travel funds.

(Also some of my international travel is due to my work. I’d have to be much richer if this entire blog was traveling on my own dime)

But to me, it’s worth. I’d rather have an amazing week and spent it building memories then to have stuff. Things break, or they get lost or worn down or old. A vacation is something you’ll remember forever.

However, if you are pressed for cash, there’s a lot of other ways to save. For instance, when I travel for fun, I always go with my best friend. We split the costs of a rental car/hotel room. Not to mention, it’s so much more fun to go somewhere with a friend or spouse.

So yeah, the world is such an amazing place. It’s incredible to see how people in different parts of the world live. Everywhere is unique and beautiful. You return different then the way you were when you left.

Get out of your comfort zone. Go see something different, try something new. The world is waiting.

What are you waiting for?

 

Leave a Reply

