First stop: Palm Springs, California.

This is it. The last city in California. At least for this trip, I can’t promise that I won’t go back in the future and visit another one.

Palm Springs is a desert resort City. It’s smack right in the middle of the California desert.

more more more.jpg

This first day is going to be a lot shorter with less driving. For two reasons. One, I didn’t have my driving buddy yet (I picked her up in Phoenix.) And two, I know someone who lives here.

Whenever possible, always stay with people and save money. It helps so much because driving across the country is expensive.

yeaaaah.jpg

this place.jpg

 

My pictures make it look barren, but it’s actually a good sized city. The sun is always shining and believe it or not, there’s a lot to do.

Golf, biking, hiking,  swimming, horseback riding, and tennis in the nearby desert and mountain areas are really huge here in Palm Springs.

To get in, I had to go through a massive mountain mass. I could of come the boring way down the freeway and through Riverside, but I decided that was too dull. I wanted to have some fun.

And boy, was it. Here’s a view of PS from on top of the mountain. Really beautiful, plus you can see some of the other mountains that surround this part of the valley.

dry.jpg

Over all, a nice visit. Also, it was a good chance for me to get adjusted to the heat I’ll be dealing with for the next few days. Hot times are ahead, this was only the beginning.

and outside.jpg

Stay tuned, as I drive through the desert to head into Arizona and the one place in the world where the Saguaro cactus grows in the wild.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

